Sergei Sergeyevich Prokofiev was a Russian, Soviet composer, pianist and conductor. As the creator of acknowledged masterpieces across numerous musical genres, he is regarded as one of the major composers of the 20th century. His works include such widely heard works as the March from The Love for Three Oranges, the suite Lieutenant Kijé, the ballet Romeo and Juliet -from which “Dance of the Knights" is taken -and Peter and the Wolf. Of the established forms and genres in which he worked, he created – excluding juvenilia – seven completed operas, seven symphonies, eight ballets, five piano concertos, two violin concertos, a cello concerto, a symphony-concerto for cello and orchestra, and nine completed piano sonatas.

His orchestral music alone is played more frequently in the United States than that of any other composer of the last hundred years save Richard Strauss, while his operas, ballets, chamber works, and piano music appear regularly throughout major concert halls worldwide. Many of his works (more than 130 opus in total) were included in the treasury of world music culture. Prokofiev is one of the most significant and repertoire composers of the 20th century.

"Portrait of Sergey Prokofiev"

Autor Rinat Kuramshin

Mariinsky Theatre.

Late 19th century

S. Prokofiev

Notes "Ten pieces"

Sergey Prokofiev